Performing Lectures
Thursday, March 17th 2005
8.00pm
at Künstlerhaus Mousonturm


DAVID WEBER-KREBS (NL/D):
"The Consequence of Infinite Endings"




>>> Performance text (pdf)

Video documentation


>>> Deutsche Fassung

<<< Back


A process wherein a movement slowly, irremediably heads towards its end, or where an object becomes smaller and smaller until it navigates at the verge of perception and finally vanishes away. This phenomenon serves as a manifestation of the experience of the Sublime in contemporary art forms.
"The Consequence of Infinite Endings" is a lecture-performance that plays with and questions the implications of this movement as a specific aesthetic strategy.
Building on selected scenes from film, art and performance, the lecture-performance will navigate along the narrow margin between critical reflection and emotional engagement. In touching on the philosophical as well as on the technical aspects, it enables us to encounter these notions of the Sublime and to question their relevance for us on a personal level and in the context of our culture.

Dramaturgical Advice: Jan-Philipp Possmann

A co-operation with Plateaux-Festival 2005

David Weber-Krebs (1974) studied French literature and religion studies in Fribourg and Berlin and mime at the AHK in Amsterdam. He develops his work since a few years making installations, films and performances that wander from the open spaces of landscapes to the closed spaces of theatres. In the past years he's been collaborating to numerous performance projects as performer, dramaturge and director. He is currently touring with "this performance", his last project co-produced by Mousonturm and Gasthuis. David Weber-Krebs is co-founder of LISA (together with Nicole Beutler, Hester van Hasselt, Ivana Müller and Paz Rojo).

Performing Lectures
Donnerstag, 17. März
um 20.00 Uhr
im Künstlerhaus Mousonturm


DAVID WEBER-KREBS (NL/D):
"The Consequence of Infinite Endings"




>>> Performancetext (pdf)

Videodokumentation


>>> English Version

<<< Zurück zur Übersicht


Ein Prozess, bei dem sich eine Bewegung langsam und unumkehrbar auf ihr Ende zu bewegt, oder ein Objekt kleiner und kleiner wird, bis es sich an der Grenze des Wahrnehmbaren bewegt und schliesslich verschwindet. Dieser Prozess funktioniert in der Kunst der Gegenwart als eine Manifestation des Erlebnisses des Erhabenen.
"The Consequence of Infinite Endings" ist eine Lecture-Performance, die mit den Implikationen dieser ästhetischen Strategie spielt und diese hinterfragt.
Aufbauend auf ausgewählten Szenen aus Film, bildender Kunst und Performance, bewegt sich die Lecture-Performance in dem schmalen Bereich zwischen kritischer Reflexion und emotionalem Engagement. Indem sie philosophische ebenso wie technische Aspekte berührt, ermöglicht sie es, diesen Vorstellungen vom Erhabenem zu begegnen und ihre Relevanz zu hinterfragen ­ für uns persönlich als auch im Kontext unserer Kultur.

Dramaturgische Mitarbeit: Jan-Philipp Possmann

Eine gemeinsame Veranstaltung
mit dem Plateaux-Festival 2005

David Weber-Krebs (1974) studierte Französische Literatur und Religionswissenschaft in Freiburg, Berlin und Pantomime an der AHK in Amsterdam. Seit einigen Jahren entwickelt sich seine Arbeit hin zu Installationen, Filmen und Performances, die sich zwischen dem offenen Raum der Landschaft und geschlossenen Theaterräumen bewegen. In den letzten Jahren arbeitete er in zahlreichen Performance-Projekten als Performer, Dramaturg und Regisseur. Zur Zeit tourt er mit seinem letzten Projekt "this performance", einer Koproduktion von Mousonturm und Gasthuis. David Weber-Krebs ist Mitbegründer von LISA (zusammen mit Nicole Beutler, Hester van Hasselt, Ivana Müller and Paz Rojo).